Mutual Recognition

All applicants who hold teacher registration in another Australian State or Territory, or in New Zealand, will be granted the equivalent category of registration in the Northern Territory in accordance with the provisions within the Mutual Recognition (Northern Territory) Act 1992 or the Trans-Tasman Mutual Recognition Act 1997 (Cth).

Registration granted under the mutual recognition principle is subject to the receipt of a complete application and verification by the Board of the applicant’s personal, registration and character details with the corresponding Australian or New Zealand registration authority.

Please visit Teachers registered in another jurisdiction for information on using Mutual Recognition Principle to register in the Northern Territory.

Automatic Mutual Recognition

Automatic Deemed Registration, also known as the Automatic Mutual Recognition (AMR) scheme commenced on 1 July 2021. The AMR scheme is part of the Mutual Recognition Act 1992 (Cth).

The Northern Territory government has exempted the teaching profession from participating in the AMR scheme. This exemption is in place until 30 June 2027. This means that teachers are not currently able to use the AMR scheme to work as a teacher in the Northern Territory.

Please read these information sheets below for more information relevant to teachers and employers about the exemption from the AMR scheme for the Northern Territory teaching profession:

Information for Teachers

Information for Employers

You can view the Declaration of Exemption on the Federal Register of Legislation by using this link: Mutual Recognition (Teacher Registration Exemption—Northern Territory) Declaration 2022 (